Instantly share code, notes, and snippets.

Embed
What would you like to do?
Line Chart Example
var Chart = (function(window,d3) {
var svg, data, x, y, xAxis, yAxis, dim, chartWrapper, line, path, margin = {}, width, height, locator;
var breakPoint = 768;
d3.csv('data.csv', init); //load data, then initialize chart
//called once the data is loaded
function init(csv) {
data = csv;
//initialize scales
xExtent = d3.extent(data, function(d,i) { return new Date(d.date) });
yExtent = d3.extent(data, function(d,i) { return d.value });
x = d3.time.scale().domain(xExtent);
y = d3.scale.linear().domain(yExtent);
//initialize axis
xAxis = d3.svg.axis().orient('bottom');
yAxis = d3.svg.axis();
//the path generator for the line chart
line = d3.svg.line()
.x(function(d) { return x(new Date(d.date)) })
.y(function(d) { return y(d.value) });
//initialize svg
svg = d3.select('#chart')
.append('svg')
.style('pointer-events', 'none');
chartWrapper = svg
.append('g')
.style('pointer-events', 'all');
path = chartWrapper.append('path').datum(data).classed('line', true);
chartWrapper.append('g').classed('x axis', true);
chartWrapper.append('g').classed('y axis', true);
chartWrapper.on('touchmove', onTouchMove);
//add locator
locator = chartWrapper.append('circle')
.style('display', 'none')
.attr('r', 10)
.attr('fill', '#f00');
touchScale = d3.scale.linear();
//render the chart
render();
}
function render() {
//get dimensions based on window size
updateDimensions(window.innerWidth);
//update x and y scales to new dimensions
x.range([0, width]);
y.range([height, 0]);
touchScale.domain([0,width]).range([0,data.length-1]).clamp(true);
//update svg elements to new dimensions
svg
.attr('width', width + margin.right + margin.left)
.attr('height', height + margin.top + margin.bottom);
chartWrapper
.attr('transform', 'translate(' + margin.left + ',' + margin.top + ')');
//update the axis and line
xAxis.scale(x);
yAxis.scale(y).orient(window.innerWidth < breakPoint ? 'right' : 'left');
if(window.innerWidth < breakPoint) {
xAxis.ticks(d3.time.month, 2)
}
else {
xAxis.ticks(d3.time.month, 1)
}
svg.select('.x.axis')
.attr('transform', 'translate(0,' + height + ')')
.call(xAxis);
svg.select('.y.axis')
.call(yAxis);
path.attr('d', line);
renderLabels();
}
var labels = [
{
x: new Date('03-15-2014'),
y: .17,
text: 'Test Label 1',
orient: 'right'
},
{
x: new Date('11-20-2014'),
y: .24,
text: 'Test Label 2',
orient: 'left'
}
]
function renderLabels() {
var _labels = chartWrapper.selectAll('text.label');
if(_labels[0].length > 0) {
//labels already exist
_labels
.attr('x', function(d) { return x(d.x) })
.attr('y', function(d) { return y(d.y) })
}
else {
//append labels if function is called for the first time
_labels
.data(labels)
.enter()
.append('text')
.classed('label', true)
.attr('x', function(d) { return x(d.x) })
.attr('y', function(d) { return y(d.y) })
.style('text-anchor', function(d) { return d.orient == 'right' ? 'start' : 'end' })
.text(function(d) { return d.text });
}
}
function updateDimensions(winWidth) {
margin.top = 20;
margin.right = winWidth < breakPoint ? 0 : 50;
margin.left = winWidth < breakPoint ? 0 : 50;
margin.bottom = 50;
width = winWidth - margin.left - margin.right;
height = .7 * width;
}
function onTouchMove() {
var xPos = d3.touches(this)[0][0];
var d = data[~~touchScale(xPos)];
locator.attr({
cx : x(new Date(d.date)),
cy : y(d.value)
})
.style('display', 'block');
}
return {
render : render
}
})(window,d3);
window.addEventListener('resize', Chart.render);
var fs = require('fs');
var startDate = new Date('2014-1-1');
var endDate = new Date('2015-1-1');
var csv = 'date,value\n';
for(var i = startDate; i < endDate; startDate.setDate(startDate.getDate() + 10)) {
csv += '' + startDate.toString() + ',' + Math.random() + '\n';
}
fs.writeFileSync('data.csv', csv);
date value
Wed Jan 01 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0100 (CET) 0.505003142170608
Sat Jan 11 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0100 (CET) 0.5459181617479771
Tue Jan 21 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0100 (CET) 0.14592946274206042
Fri Jan 31 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0100 (CET) 0.7082753519061953
Mon Feb 10 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0100 (CET) 0.010393543168902397
Thu Feb 20 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0100 (CET) 0.6583312929142267
Sun Mar 02 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0100 (CET) 0.24273463618010283
Wed Mar 12 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0100 (CET) 0.15577656053937972
Sat Mar 22 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0100 (CET) 0.8833602059166878
Tue Apr 01 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0200 (CEST) 0.26687808078713715
Fri Apr 11 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0200 (CEST) 0.649613720132038
Mon Apr 21 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0200 (CEST) 0.4543698029592633
Thu May 01 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0200 (CEST) 0.7719218074344099
Sun May 11 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0200 (CEST) 0.5177543167956173
Wed May 21 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0200 (CEST) 0.9994703007396311
Sat May 31 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0200 (CEST) 0.7990491802338511
Tue Jun 10 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0200 (CEST) 0.2791274816263467
Fri Jun 20 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0200 (CEST) 0.00961384573020041
Mon Jun 30 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0200 (CEST) 0.17923940671607852
Thu Jul 10 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0200 (CEST) 0.5797557467594743
Sun Jul 20 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0200 (CEST) 0.41668077907525003
Wed Jul 30 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0200 (CEST) 0.26668014749884605
Sat Aug 09 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0200 (CEST) 0.9645155349280685
Tue Aug 19 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0200 (CEST) 0.9435918028466403
Fri Aug 29 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0200 (CEST) 0.4980645985342562
Mon Sep 08 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0200 (CEST) 0.9871973677072674
Thu Sep 18 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0200 (CEST) 0.8283164533786476
Sun Sep 28 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0200 (CEST) 0.6416109406854957
Wed Oct 08 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0200 (CEST) 0.6466128702741116
Sat Oct 18 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0200 (CEST) 0.7002710588276386
Tue Oct 28 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0100 (CET) 0.9069056580774486
Fri Nov 07 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0100 (CET) 0.6439003541599959
Mon Nov 17 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0100 (CET) 0.7253473403397948
Thu Nov 27 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0100 (CET) 0.22283505811356008
Sun Dec 07 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0100 (CET) 0.6578892532270402
Wed Dec 17 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0100 (CET) 0.14639883721247315
Sat Dec 27 2014 00:00:00 GMT+0100 (CET) 0.31333006569184363
<!DOCTYPE html>
<html lang="en">
<head>
<meta charset="UTF-8">
<meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width" />
<title>D3 Line Chart</title>
<link rel="stylesheet" href="style.css">
<script src="//d3js.org/d3.v3.min.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
</head>
<body>
<div id="chart"></div>
<script src="chart.js"></script>
</body>
</html>
body {
font: 12px sans-serif;
margin: 0;
}
.axis path,
.axis line {
fill: none;
stroke: #000;
shape-rendering: crispEdges;
}
.x.axis path {
display: none;
}
.line {
fill: none;
stroke: steelblue;
stroke-width: 1.5px;
}
@Pacsangon

This comment has been minimized.

Copy link

Pacsangon commented Aug 4, 2016

Hi, you can upload more examples of d3 with responsible design. Thank you.

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment